Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Fiberglass, Kevlar or Aluminum Canoe?

I am planning to buy a canoe maybe next year but I don't know which is best. The fiberglass, Kevlar, or aluminum canoe?
    I am really a novice when it comes to canoe and I would like to ask for some of your opinions guys.
    What are the advantages and disadvantages of the three?
    Which is more durable and could last for several years?
    Which is easy to maintain?
    If you are on my situation, what will you choose?

Thank you in advance for any reply.

This sounds like a good excuse to write a book, but briefly. If you would rather build things than couch potato, dooing a stripper will get you a winterís entertainment as well as a light, attention getting canoe. Strippers are tough and will take moderate abuse but not recommended for white water. Your average el cheapo fibreglass will take about the same abuse as a stripper but are usually ugly and heavy. Kevlar is light and tough, usually recommended for white water and along with strippers the choice of serious trippers. Donít know a lot about aluminum, but they are heavy and prone to leaks around the rivets if knocked about. Royalex/Polyethylene are similar to fibreglass, ugly and heavy, but they bounce off rocks better.

Yeah, good excuse to write a book.
    Anyway, Kevlar is probably the best balance of of what you are looking for. Some of the hulls are quite stable, well suited to a new paddler. Easy to maintain (under cover, don't let UV light get at them.) Light to carry.
    The plastic boats rule on whitewater, with reason. They are tough and rugged and really easy to maintain. But, once they wear out, they don't like to be repaired. Easier to replace them....
    Aluminum takes a pounding...it also dents and looks like hell...and performs as well. Aluminum "sticks" to the water, so, avoid that if possible. As Noah says, rivits can loosen. Good for liveries, not too good for your boat.