Hello and welcome to our community! Is this your first visit?
Register

Thread: New here..

New here..

Hi all,

New here...cabinetmaker by trade and pickup this little 12' boat ,trailer, trolling motor ,, for $120... its water tight ..but has had some pretty pi$$ poor repairs done to it.... I work with wood...not fiberglass ..have done a few little fiberglass work a long time ago .. so no expert by any means ...Look like they painted it with a 4" brush... so I'm working on getting getting it stripped... lots of dings and scratches... what's the best way to smooth these out? I guess I mean like is there spot filler for fiberglass? ..this is new to me so please excuse any questions you perceive as being ignorant ...cuss I am to this
    Attached Images Attached Images

The best way to start would be sand off the paint and repairs down to the original gelcote; you can start with 80 grit. Fill dings and scratches with Bondo, Epoxy is better for larger boats or if it stays in the water, instead of on a trailer. Any areas that show white fibreglass or cracks that go into hull should be ground out and replaced with fibreglass and resin. Sand again until everything is smooth. You can paint with good quality enamel, but 2 part Polyurethane is better for durability, gloss and scratch resistance.
    Check “Polyurethane Paint “in this forum for paint instructions.

Question I would kill for flexible sander!!Argh...

Hey guys,

Im new on this forum. I pretty much asked around other forums as well... still. I am trying to find some electric flexible sanders. I got few nice responses and I know a bit more about sanders now.

I spent countless nights wake up and asking, why there is not a company that developed flexible electric sander for us. Sure, there are plenty of great companies. Im sure you know them 3M, Mirka (their Ceros is good tool, but sands little too much for my taste ). Huthins and their marine sanders are great too..